Last month, we attended the NCPA Annual Convention in Kansas City, where some of our PioneerRx Pharmacy Software users had a well-deserved time in the spotlight. 

NCPA recognized some of the best and brightest pharmacy minds who continue to push the boundaries of the industry. We’re proud to be working with these pharmacists, and we can’t wait to see what they do next. 

Congratulations to all who won an award!

Megan Smith - National Preceptor of the Year

The National Preceptor of the Year Award went to Megan Smith for making a “significant contribution to the education of pharmacy students as a preceptor in a community practice setting.”

Megan currently works as a pharmacist at The Pharmacy at Wellington in Little Rock, Arkansas. She also teaches as an assistant professor at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences College of Pharmacy.

(Left to right) Megan Smith and Brittany Sanders, Owner of The Pharmacy at Wellington

Having worked in the independent pharmacy industry since her high school days, Megan recognizes the importance of adapting to change. She also knows the value of teaching future generations of pharmacists that very same thing.

Responding to change is a key element in an independent pharmacy’s success, and Megan Smith is working to ensure that she and the rest of the industry will continue to thrive.

“My passion is to develop workable solutions for community pharmacies,” Megan says. “As a preceptor, I have engaged my students with hands-on experiences to solve real-life problems. At The Pharmacy at Wellington, I am intentional every day to ensure students understand the why behind our work and have them help be part of the solution towards improved practice. Being nominated and receiving this award is the highest honor to know that I am making a difference.”

NARD Ownership Award - Marc Ost

Marc Ost received the NARD Ownership Award at this year’s NCPA Annual Convention.  

This award recognizes pharmacy owners who “embrace entrepreneurial spirit through promotion and demonstrated excellence in the field of community pharmacy ownership.”

(Left to right) Scott Pace (Kavanaugh Pharmacy), Marc Ost (Eric's RX Shoppe), and John Schutte (Gerimed). Photo credit: Mayanak Amin

Marc graduated from the University of Colorado with a business administration degree.

Wanting to improve and innovate within the business side of pharmacy, he joined his father at Philadelphia Pharmacy, eventually becoming co-owner of Eric’s RX Shoppe with Eric Abramowitz.

“I am very honored to have won the NARD Ownership Award,” says Marc. “To be recognized on a national level for the work that our pharmacy and I have done is a tremendous honor. And to make it even more special is the fact that I was selected for this award by the NCPA Foundation Board. I have a ton of respect for the board and consider many of the board members to be “Pioneers” in the independent pharmacy community.”

Through his work in Eric’s RX Shoppe and advocacy outside of the pharmacy, Marc is a shining example of running a successful small business while offering exceptional healthcare delivery services.  

Mark currently serves on the BucksMont Pharmacy Association Board of Directors and the board of the Philadelphia Association of Retail Druggists.

Calvin J. Anthony Lifetime Achievement Award - Jim Martin

Pharmacist Jim Martin received the 2022 Calvin J. Anthony Lifetime Achievement Award, an award that “honors a pharmacist who has dedicated their career to the advancement of the pharmacy profession.”

Jim Martin (Martin's Wellness Pharmacy)

Jim’s presence in the independent pharmacy industry speaks for itself:

  • Co-owner of Martin & Martin Consultants with his wife Dorinda
  • Owner of Austin-based pharmacies Dripping Pharmacy, Lamar Drug Plaza Drug Store, Lake Hills Pharmacy, and Martin’s Specialty Pharmacy.
  • Executive director and CEO of the Texas Pharmacy Association
  • CEO of the Texas Pharmacy Foundation.
  • President and Chairman of the Georgia Pharmacy Association
  • President and Chairman of the NCPA Board
  • President and Chairman of the American College of Apothecaries
  • Member of the Board of Directors of Compliant Pharmacy Alliance
  • Member of the Alliance for Pharmacy Compounding
  • Member of the Texas Pharmacy Association
“When I think of all of the many pharmacists who have contributed to our profession, I realize how special this award really is,” Jim says. “Also, Calvin Anthony has been a friend for many years, and working with him in many aspects of pharmacy makes this recognition even more special.”

With over four decades of exceptional work, Jim has left and continues to leave an indelible mark on the independent pharmacy community.

His contributions, whether on the pharmacy floor or in a board room, have transformed the industry into what it is today.

Sharlea Leatherwood Memorial Trailblazer Award - The Independent Community Pharmacist

Last but not least, all independent pharmacists were collectively awarded the Sharlea Leatherwood Memorial Trailblazer Award. The award recognizes pharmacy owners who “blaze a trail for other independent pharmacy owners and future generations of independent pharmacy owners.”

Marc Ost details how independent pharmacists have gone above and beyond over the last couple of years:

“Throughout the COVID pandemic, independent pharmacies have stepped up to whatever challenges existed. The definition of an independent pharmacy is being able to adapt to the ever-changing needs of the patient, provider, or health eco-system.”

Our deepest gratitude goes to independent pharmacists for going above and beyond during times of great uncertainty.

They’ve often been the guiding light through some truly troubling times. We will always support and cheer them on as we both work to Save + Revitalize Independent Pharmacy.

Let's Push the Industry Forward

The NCPA’s Annual Convention honors the very best of the independent pharmacy industry. At the end of the day, however, the most rewarding part of the job is helping patients through their health journey.

Every situation is different and unique, which requires the pharmacist to be on their toes and deliver exceptional service at a moment’s notice.

It takes years and even decades' worth of experience to make a well-informed decision in the heat of the moment — and that’s what independent pharmacists do on the daily.

Jim Martin couldn’t have said it better:

“There is no better way to practice pharmacy!”
Ready to Take Your Pharmacy Further?
Request Software Demo